Pages

Tuesday, 21 October 2014

Getting error message “The file cannot be used because it was created for a different user"? Scroll to get a solution!

MS Exchange user is already well-aware of the importance of Offline Storage Table (OST) files. OSTs are relied upon by the users, when the exchange server is down or some problems are being encountered while setting up the internet connection to synchronize OST with the exchange server. It lets you access your crucial data anytime without requiring you to get online. But the main issue arrives when these OST files suffer from corruption. The common reasons which usually comes out to be the reason of OST file corruption are hardware or software malfunction, 2 GB file size limit-exceeding which the OST becomes corrupt, abrupt termination of MS Outlook application, synchronization problems, power shortage, etc. 

Apart from the aforementioned common issues, sometimes the user encounters some other OST errors as well. Let us go through a real-life scenario to understand the situation in a better way. A user somehow encountered corruption of his user mailbox maintained on the exchange server, which made all his files inaccessible. If such a scenario takes place, then a new user profile has to be created on the exchange server. But this does not guarantee that you will be able to access your OST again. Likewise, the user after creating a new profile when attempted to open the OST file, ended up encountering the following error message:
"The file cannot be used because it was created for a different user."
Now, this error message simply indicates that the OST file has gone to an unusable state. Therefore, to access the data items of that OST file, one thing which can be done is, convert the OST into PST format. Then, import that PST file in MS Outlook and you will be able to access the data items contained within it.


To convert the OST file into PST and that too without putting in much effort, you can use a commercial OST to PST converter tool. There are plenty of them available in the software market. To choose the correct one suiting your needs, you can try a free demo version of the software which you think will be suitable for you. After using it, if you find the functionality good enough then purchase it’s full version. 

Kernel for OST to PST is one of the most optimal solutions available at present. It is bundled with a set of wondrous features and with the ability to handle every sort of corruption or error issue. With this utility, you can even repair the corrupt OST file before converting it into PST format. It converts the entire OST mailbox including emails, attachments, contacts, tasks, appointments, meeting requests, distribution lists, posts, etc. into PST mailbox. While performing the migration, the software ensures that the integrity, properties and formatting of the data remains intact and unhampered.

A free demo version of Kernel for OST to PST can be download from http://www.osttopstconvert.recoveryfiles.org/ website for evaluation purpose.

Sunday, 12 October 2014

How to react to the situation when your email gets stuck in the Outlook Outbox folder and refuses to be delivered?

There are times when you need to send an important message to someone and it gets stuck in between. Failure to send a message can hamper the usual work flow and instigate a lot of delay in usual day to day process. There could be many reasons leading to this situation such as, email containing large attachment, trying to open the email when it is already in the list of send/receive process, incorrect settings, absence of proper authentication, no internet connectivity, no default email set, virus attack damage conditions or usage of Outlook by some other tool.
If the email is stuck because of large attachment, then removing it, resizing it or sending the attachment in parts must be the right way. To delete the specific email, you can go to that email and delete it by right clicking on it and selecting Delete option. To edit the email, set Outlook in Offline mode and drag the email from Outbox to Drafts folder and proceed with the changes. If you get the error, “Outlook has already begun transmitting this message”, then there are very little chances you can edit the email. You must wait for the send process to complete. 
 
If this does not solve your issue, there might be chances that the Outlook email settings are not correct. Verify the password by logging in to your profile in Outlook. If you have recently changed the Outlook.com password then you must change the account password in Outlook as well. Here is how to change the password as required:
  1. Go to the File menu->Info->Select the Account Settings

  2. In the Account Settings dialog window: select account where you need to change the password and click Change
  3. Type a new password in the corresponding field and Click Next to finally finish the process.
If the account is not properly authenticated with the Server, then you must check the settings and do the required. In Outlook 2010, you need to go to the File tab, Click Account Settings and Double click the Advanced Tab. Click on Tools menu ->Accounts settings and go to Email. Switch to the Outgoing Server Tab and check if the Outgoing Server Port number is correct (it should be 25 for SMTP accounts).
 
If the Outlook is set to work offline, then change it to “Online” mode. Go to Send/Receive tab -> Preferences group -> click the Work Offline button to toggle it off. Check in task bar if program is using MS Outlook. In case of virus attacks, some process might be using the email application at the back. You need to stop the process and remove the virus from the system. These could be few tricks to deal with the email stuck situation. However, if nothing resolves it, the MS Outlook might be damaged or some OST file with it and the best way to repair OST file is by downloading a third party tool for it.
 
Kernel for OST to PST Conversion performs quick and easy OST repair and saves everything in PST, EML, MSG or DBX format as required. The software requires no technical expertise and can be used by anyone. The tool repairs emails, calendars, contacts, tasks, posts, task requests, journals, notes, appointments, meeting requests, distribution lists, etc. with complete accuracy in less time. It allows user to save specific items based on given criteria and fully supports password protected OST file conversion also. Also available in trial version to try the tool before purchase, this is the best solution to deal with OST damage situations. Download free version : http://www.osttopsttools.com/

Wednesday, 8 October 2014

What to do if the Sync Issues folder for Outlook contains warnings, "Synchronization of some deletions failed" error.

Few days back I was trying to synchronize my Outlook 2010 mails with the Exchange Server 2010. It was a normal sync action that I wanted to perform. After the process, I checked the emails and found some discrepancy. There were some items that I could read in Outlook Web Access but was not able to get them in my mailbox. I discovered that for such discrepancies in synchronization, Microsoft provides “Synchronization Issues Folder”. It consists of all the logs and items that MS Outlook is unable to sync with the Exchange Server. 
 
The folder comprises of “Sync Issues” sub folder along with few other options that consists of all the synchronization logs which were earlier (in MS Outlook earlier versions) stored in Deleted Items Folder. The contents of this sync folder are not stored in Exchange Server, that is, the only way to view these files is from my computer not from somewhere else. When I checked the contents of Sync Issues folder, it had the following error descriptions:

    15:39:32 Synchronizer Version 14.0.6109
    15:39:32 Synchronizing Mailbox 'user profile name'
    15:39:32 Synchronizing local changes in folder 'Deleted Items'
    15:39:32 Uploading to server 'outlook.xyz.com'
    15:39:32 Synchronization of some deletions failed.
    15:39:32 [80004005-501-4B9-130] (Error Code)
    15:39:32 The client operation failed.
    15:39:32 Microsoft Exchange Information Store 

Here, the errors that were described could have been due to deletion of Exchange mailbox or non existence of that specific file in the mailbox. In most of the cases, these errors occur when the items no longer exist in the Exchange mailbox. Additionally, the warning may have been logged because of the Exchange Server failure to delete an item. Also, the OST file may have gone damaged. On a little searching, I found “OST Integrity Check” tool. It was an inbuilt utility by Microsoft and all I had to do was find it, exit MS Outlook and start using the tool.
 
I selected my “Outlook profile” by going to the Profile name list and opted for “Repair Errors” checkbox. On clicking “Begin Scan”, the tool checked everything and enlisted OST issues in my mailbox. These OST issues were listed under Deleted Items folder. However, the entire process required a lot of time and efforts. Moreover, it told me the damage but I could not repair anything. 
 
Then I looked for third party utility tools available and found “Kernel for OST to PST Conversion” software that was easy to use, interactive tool to perform complete OST conversion. Other than being simple, it did convert all my damaged OST file within minutes; it also gave me options to save the recovered items in PST, DBX, EML and MSG format. The tool had no limitation for the file size for recovery and it didn’t require the original Outlook profile as well. Additionally, the tool gave me options to preview everything recovered and save the items selectively. All in all, it was the easiest and most effective way I found out to convert the damaged OST files and save my files accordingly. Visit here : http://www.osttopstconvert.recoveryfiles.org/

Thursday, 18 September 2014

Resolve OST error issues and retrieve its data by converting into PST

MS Outlook and Exchange server together makes the business communication via email quite seamless and smooth. For every user, MS Exchange server creates a user profile which is unique in itself and can be accessed on MS Outlook. When the user profile is created for the account, an OST file is automatically created that maintains an exact copy of the mailbox which is present on the exchange server. It can be accessed in the offline mode and gets synchronized when the connection is setup.

All goes well until the synchronization of OST gets automatically done with the exchange server but when the OST starts showing abrupt behavior such as no synchronization even after the connection is set up or does not opens up easily then it implies that OST has probably gone corrupt. Sometimes the reason of OST file corruption is exchange server crash, exchange server downtime, accidental user account deletion, database corruption, virus intrusion, etc. but at other instances the occurrence of errors notifies that something has went wrong. 

Let us consider a real life scenario where a user tries to open an OST file to access the data items but due to security issues, was unable to do so. Upon trying he encounters the following error: 
Unable to open your default e-mail folder. The file
C:/Documents and Settings/User Name/Local Settings Application
DataMicrosoftOutlookoutlook.ost
cannot be accessed. You must connect to your MS Exchange Server at least once before you can use your offline folder file.
To get rid of this issue you can manually export this file to PST format and can try accessing it. To perform the steps by your own, follow the steps below:
  1. Launch the MS Outlook application
  2. Go to Tools Menu -> Account settings -> Email account -> More settings
  3. Now click on the Advanced tab and then select ‘Use cached Exchange Mode’ checkbox.
  4. Click Offline Folder File Settings and then locate the OST file by clicking on Browse button
  5. Start Outlook again.
  6. Now, click File -> Import and Export -> Export to a file -> Personal Folder File (.pst)
However, if these steps still does not enable you to access the OST file data items then you are left with only one option. That is, OST to PST conversion by using a commercial OST to PST converter tool. But the major question here is, how to choose the appropriate software amongst the variety of them available in the market? Well, you have to set your priority list based on which you can select the right tool for your needs.

First and foremost, the software should be able to deliver the precise results and should be compatible with the MS Outlook and Windows versions which you are using. Secondly, it should perform the task quickly and should be able to recover multiple files simultaneously so as to save time. To analyze the worth of the software before purchase, you can download and try its free demo version. One such proficient tool which is available with a free demo is Kernel for OST to PST software. It is an efficacious tool that recovers the corrupt OST along with all its data items quite accurately. Also, it allows recovery and conversion of multiple OST files simultaneously. Read more : - http://www.converter.osttopstfree.com/

Thursday, 4 September 2014

How to Recreate an Offline Outlook Data (OST) File in MS Outlook 2010

When you use an Exchange account, your emails and other mailbox items are stored on a mail server. If you want to work offline when Outlook is not connected to Exchange, you can do this by configuring offline mode (or Cached Exchange Mode) in Outlook. The offline working in Outlook is facilitated by OST. In offline or Cached Exchange Mode, Outlook keeps a local copy of emails and other mailbox items as offline Outlook Data File (OST).

Offline Outlook Data File (OST)

While working in the offline mode, the OST files hold the data of the Outlook profile. When Exchange connection is established, OST files are synchronized with the Exchange mailbox to make their data identical. As OST file is a replica of the Exchange mailbox, there is no need to back up OST. When necessary, Outlook can create it from the Exchange mailbox.

Synchronization Errors in Outlook

Sometimes you may find that items are missing or inaccessible in OST file or Exchange mailbox even after synchronization. This is because of errors in the synchronization. In earlier versions of Outlook, Scanost.exe (OST Integrity Check Tool) was available to fix the synchronization issues. However, it is not available in Outlook 2010. But users can re-create the OST file to fix the issue.

OST Corruption

If you are not able to open the OST file, you can presume that it is corrupt. Upon trying to open a corrupt OST, you may receive messages of the type:
  • OST file cannot be accessed in Outlook
  • Microsoft Exchange Server reported Error
  • Unable to expand the folder
  • Cannot open the emails folder. ‘The file xxx.ost  is not an offline file’
How Recreate OST File in Outlook 2010

Exit the Outlook application completely, before starting to create a new copy of the OST file.
  1. Go to Control Panel and click/double-click Mail.

  2. The Mail Setup dialogue box with the name of the current profile appears; click E-mail Accounts….
Note: To change to a different profile, click Show Profiles; select the required profile and click Properties.
  1. On the E-mail tab (of the Account Settings dialogue box), select the Exchange account; click Change.

  2. Clear the Use Cached Exchange Mode checkbox; click More Settings…

  3. Click Offline Folder File Settings on the Advanced tab.

  4. Click Disable Offline Use; click Yes in the appearing dialogue box.

  5. Again, click Offline Folder File Settings; click OK.

  6. Click Yes in the appearing dialogue box.

  7. Select the Use Cached Exchange Mode check box under Cached Exchange Mode Settings.

  8. Click OK; click Next; finally click Finish.

  9. Click Close in the Account Settings and Mail Setup dialog boxes
How to Fix OST Corruption Issues after Exchange Disasters and Crashes

It is not possible to recreate the OST file at a time when Exchange is down due to crash or disaster. But it is possible for you to use the offline files to establish the Outlook communication. For this you need to convert your OST files to PST using a professional tool like Kernel for OST to PST. To know more about this tool visit here: http://www.osttopstconvert.recoveryfiles.org

Wednesday, 27 August 2014

How to repair the damaged Offline Folder (OST) files and access data from them?

OST (Offline Storage Table) is an offline folder file that holds data of Outlook profile when you are in the offline mode. These files keep a copy of emails and other attributes of Outlook from Exchange Server. While synchronizing an .OST file in MS Outlook with your mailbox on the Exchange Server, you might face few error messages such as:
  • "Cannot open your default email folders. The file xxxx.ost is not an offline folder file."
  • "Unable to expand the folder. The set of folders could not be opened. Errors could have been detected in the file xxxx.ost. Quit all mail-enabled applications, and then use the Inbox Repair Tool."
  • “Encounter a large numbers of conflict items”
  • “Cannot open particular Outlook items when offline”
  •  “OST file cannot be accessed in Outlook”
The occurrence of any of the above-mentioned error message simply indicates that the stored OST file has gone corrupt or damaged. There may be numerous reasons responsible for the corruption of these .OST files and are categorized as:
  • Hardware Reasons: Data storage device failure, networking connection failure, power failure
  • Software Reasons: Incorrect file system recovery, virus or other malicious attacks, abnormal termination of MS Outlook, synchronization error, deficiencies in Outlook programs.
On corruption of OST files, they need to be repaired to recover the entire email data with complete accuracy. Microsoft Outlook itself provides an inbuilt OST Integrity Checker (Scanost.exe) that helps in identifying and repairing the OST file synchronization issues. This tool scans both damaged OST file and the mailbox on the Exchange Server, compares the email items and folders in both, and resolves the synchronization issues. This inbuilt tool does not alter the mailbox on the Exchange Server but records the differences in the scan log that can be resolved. The scan log also identifies the situations that the tool could not resolve and needs to be fixed manually. Note that, to use the OST Integrity Checker, you must be connected to your Exchange account so that the tool can scan your mailbox folders and items.

Another inbuilt tool for OST file recovery is the Inbox Repair tool (Scanpst.exe) that scans the .OST files and analyzes the file structure integrity. This tool also helps in diagnosing and repairing the errors in Exchange OST files. The tool scans the .OST files and ensures that the file structure remains intact. Moreover, the tool does not interact with the Inbox folder on the Exchange Server in any means.

In case both these OST Integrity Checker (Scanost.exe) and Inbox Repair tool (Scanpst.exe) fails to repair the damaged, corrupt or inaccessible OST files, then you must use a third-party tool like Kernel for OST to PST. This third-party solution accurately repairs the damaged OST files, recovers the entire email data and stores them in PST files. On performing conversion from OST to PST, the entire email items can be accessed with Microsoft Outlook. This tool works well with Windows 8 and Windows 8.1 OS platforms. Available in two different licenses – Corporate ($199) and Technician ($299), it can be downloaded for free as trial version to evaluate its capabilities.
To download Kernel For OST to PST Software visit here: http://www.recoveryfiles.org/download-ost-to-pst-converter.html

Sunday, 12 January 2014

How to repair MS Outlook .OST files when its synchronization with Exchange Server fails?

What makes Microsoft Outlook the most preferred email client all around the globe is its Offline Working Mode feature. It keeps data in .OST files that serves as a backup and proves helpful in case of losing .PST files. All the mailbox items such as emails, notes, journals, calendar entries, contacts, tasks, posts, task requests, appointments, meeting requests, distribution lists, etc. are stored in Offline mode as well. It is just a replica of exact Exchange Server user mailbox and is stored on user’s local machine. On establishing connection with Exchange Server, every single change made to the user mailbox items gets reflected on Exchange Server simultaneously.

These .OST files may get damaged, corrupt or inaccessible due to numerous unseen reasons such as virus attacks, synchronization problem, network issues, mailbox corruption, oversized OST file, damage of database, breakdown of Exchange Server, software or hardware malfunctioning, insufficient storage space, accidental deletion of Server, abrupt application or Server shutdowns, etc.

In case MS Outlook fails to synchronize .OST files with MS Exchange Server, you might face some error messages. Failure in the synchronization of .OST files with Exchange Server may also lead to missing of files in Outlook mailbox. OST Integrity Checker (Scanost.exe) is an inbuilt utility by Microsoft that assists in checking and repairing the synchronization issues of MS Outlook.

While using OST Integrity Checker tool, MS Outlook mail account must be connected with the Microsoft Exchange Server. It is also to be noted that, while using OST Integrity Checker tool, it does not make any changes to the running MS Exchange mailbox. The tool scans both .OST file and mailbox on the Server running Exchange, compares the items and folders in each and tries to reconcile synchronization differences between them.

An error message that you might face when while synchronizing an .OST file with MS Exchange Server fails:

“Unable to start processing services. /offline.ost cannot be accessed. You must connect to your Microsoft Exchange Server computer at least once before you can use your offline folder file.”

Steps – How to Repair MS Outlook .OST File using OST Integrity Checker (Scanost.exe):

1.Locate Scanost.exe tool. In case you are using Outlook 2010, it could be found at “C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office14” or in case you are using Outlook 2013, it will be at “C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office15”.
2.Open your Outlook MS Exchange account.
3.Double-click Scanost.exe and click “Browse” to select the .OST file that needs to be repaired. Open “Options” dialog to specify the scan log options and click “Start” to initiate the scanning process. The Scanost.exe tool syncs local .OST content with respect to Exchange mailbox.


4.In order to get the same .OST file fully repaired, it can be rescanned with Scanpst.exe as well. In case, any errors still remains in local .OST file after repairing with Scanost.exe tool, the Scanpst.exe repairs them.


5.On completion of the repairing process, following window appears displaying the folders and items found in the local .OST file:
In case, you are using Microsoft Exchange account and the .OST file is missing email items or is not synchronized with the Exchange mailbox, it is recommended to recreate the .OST file.

Steps - How to Re-create an Offline Outlook Data (.OST) File?

1.Exit MS Outlook.
2.In Control Panel > Click Mail.
The title bar of the Mail Setup dialog box displays the name of the current profile. To select a different existing profile > Click Show Profiles > Select the Profile Name > Click Properties.
3.On the E-mail tab > Select the Exchange Account > Click Change.
4.Clear the Use Cached Exchange Mode check box > Click More Settings.
5.On the Advanced tab > Click Offline Folder File Settings.
6.Click Disable Offline Use > and then in the dialog box that appears > Click Yes.
7.Again, click Offline Folder File Settings > Click OK > in the dialog box that appears > Click Yes.
8.Under Cached Exchange Mode Settings > Select the Use Cached Exchange Mode check box > Click OK > Click Next > Click Finish.
9.In the Account Settings and Mail Setup dialog boxes > Click Close.

In case, OST Integrity Checker tool fails to repair the damaged .OST file or fails to recover the required email item, then user must prefer to use a prominent third-party tool to repair the damaged .OST files.

Numerous third-party tools are available in the market nowadays for recovering user mailbox data from damaged or corrupt .OST files. Kernel for OST to PST is one such advanced and powerful email recovery solution that prominently repairs damaged .OST files, recovers user mailbox data with complete accuracy and stores them in .PST files that can be further easily accessed with MS Outlook. Moreover, the software facilitates saving recovered email data in .DBX, .MSG, or .EML file formats. Extending its full support to all available versions of MS Outlook, Microsoft Exchange Server, Outlook Express and compatibility with all Windows OS platforms, the software is also available as a free trial version letting its users evaluate its capabilities before making an actual purchase.

Visit this link http://www.osttopstconverter.recoveryfiles.org to know more about Kernel for OST to PST Software.

Thursday, 14 November 2013

How to create a new OST file if old OST file gets corrupt

Even if we want to, the use and importance of emails could not be avoided in present times. Email communication is by far the easiest and most reliable form when it comes to exchange of ideas or information record keeping. Usage of MS Outlook is synonymous with email communication. Outlook is the most preferred email client because of its Offline Working Mode feature. It keeps data in OST file that serves as a backup as well in PST data loss occasions. The OST mode is also called Cached Working Mode that keeps the data and sends it as soon as it finds network connectivity. Offline mode stores all mailbox items including emails, notes, journals, calendar schedules etc. Trouble creeps in when due to virus attacks or similar issues, user loses entire mailbox including OST files stored. 

When damaged, OST files get inaccessible, corrupt or give several errors. There are OST file repair options available in all versions of MS Outlook. However, they keep changing such as, in MS Outlook 2000, 2003 Detect and Repair Tool is present. In MS Outlook 2007 version, Office Diagnostics Tool replaced Detect and Repair tool. In MS Outlook 2010 and 2013, the Repair Option is made available but it is exclusively designed to repair Outlook installation files and registry entries. One can find Repair Option at:

Start -> Windows Control Panel -> (Add/ Remove) Programs -> Microsoft Office -> Change installation-> Repair

In order to recreate a new OST file in case of OST damage in MS Outlook 2013, follow the steps below. 

1. Close, Exit MS Outlook 2013

2. Start – > Control panel and double-click on Mail

You will see the current profile in dialog box of Mail Setup. If you want to choose a different profile, select Show Profiles and choose accordingly. 

3. Click Email Accounts inside Mail Setup Dialogue box

4. Select Data Files tab, click on Exchange account and then click on Open File Location
For the Exchange Account, an explorer window opens to the location of data file. Both dialog boxes- Account Settings and Mail Setup remains open behind the file explorer window.

5. Close both Mail Setup and Account Settings dialog box and return to file explorer window

6. In the file explorer window, select Exchange data file and Right-click. Click Delete
When you re-open the OST file after closing, a new OST file is created for the account mentioned.

There is a recovery option also available along with these that can be used under OST file damage situations. However, if you fail to do so, you can always trust third party tools that are available in the market currently. Kernel for OST to PST Conversion tool is third party efficient utility that helps users to perform complete OST recovery and convert them to easily accessible PST files as and when required. Embedded with amazing set of features, the software performs complete OST recovery including emails, calendars, contacts, tasks, posts, task requests, journals, notes, appointments, meeting requests, distribution lists, etc. with accuracy from OST to PST. The recovered items are saved in PST, DBX, MSG or EML format as required. In addition, the software comes with free trial version that allows user to try the utility before buying. It is supported by almost all versions of MS Outlook and MS Exchange.To know more about this tool you can visit:  http://www.osttopstconverter.recoveryfiles.org/

Tuesday, 6 August 2013

What to Do When Some Items Are Missing in Your Outlook Mailbox after Synchronization?

What to do when you find that some items are missing in your Outlook mailbox or OST even after synchronizing it with Exchange Server mailbox? Probably this has happened because of no synchronization or synchronization errors. Synchronization error is a very common problem faced by most of the Outlook users. 


Checking for Proper Synchronization

Though Offline Storage Table (OST) offers you the convenience of working offline (Cached Exchange Mode) with MS Outlook, it may cause frequent errors if you do not use MS Outlook application properly. In case of error, you should verify that synchronization of your Outlook OST with Exchange Server mailbox is proper.


If the synchronization is proper, the number of items in your server folders and Offline folders will be the same. You can check this by checking the synchronization properties of the folders. For this, right click on the folder and select Properties. Click the Synchronization tab (it will be present only if you have set up your profile to use offline folders) and see the following fields under Statistics for this folder: Last Synchronized on, Server folder contains and Offline folder contains. 

If the synchronization is proper, the number in the field Server folder contains will be equal to the number in Offline folder contains field.

Verifying the Outlook Profile Settings for Proper Synchronization

If the synchronization is not proper, first you need to verify the profile settings by following the steps given below, (steps vary according to the version of MS Outlook).

Steps to Verify Outlook Profile Settings to avoid Synchronization Errors
Outlook 2003
Outlook 2007
Outlook 2010
  1. Go to Tools>E-mail Accounts
  2. Confirm that View or change existing e-mail accounts option is selected under the Email section of the E-mail Accounts dialogue box; click Next.
  3. Confirm that Mailbox – account name is selected in the Deliver new mail to the following location list.
  4. Click the Microsoft Exchange Server object, followed by Change.
  5. Confirm that Use Cached Exchange Mode is selected; click Next.
  6. Click Finish, click OK.
  1. Go to Tools>Account Settings
  2. Confirm that Mailbox – account name is set as default under the Data Files tab.
  3. Click the E-mail tab.
  4. Click Mailbox – account name followed by Settings.
  5. Confirm that the Use Cached Exchange Mode option is selected under the Advanced tab; click OK.
  6. Click Close in the Account Settings dialogue box.
  1. Go to File>Account Settings
  2. Confirm that Mailbox – account name is set as default under the Data Files tab.
  3. Click the E-mail tab.
  4. Click Mailbox – account name followed by Settings.
  5. Confirm that the Use Cached Exchange Mode option is selected; click OK.
  6. Click Close in the Account Settings dialogue box.
      1. Finally, exit Outlook, reopen it and synchronize folders.

OST Integrity Check Tool

OST Integrity Check Tool or Scanost.exe is an inbuilt Microsoft tool to check and repair the synchronization issues of Microsoft Outlook. Usually you will receive error messages when the Outlook application fails to synchronize your Outlook Mailbox (OST) with the mailbox in Exchange Server. You may also find that some files missing in the Outlook mailbox. In that, you can use this tool to check the OST files.

To use the OST Integrity Check Tool, your Outlook needs to be connected to the Exchange Server. While connected to the Exchange Server, the OST Integrity Check tool scans the mailbox folders and items on the Exchange Server. To run the Scanost.exe, quit the Outlook application and follow the steps given below:
  1. Double-click Scanost.exe (located at C:\Program Files\Common Files\System\MSMAPI\Local ID folder)
  2. Go to Profile Name list and click the profile that contains the OST that needs to be checked.
  3. Select Repair Errors checkbox.
  4. Click Begin Scan.
The OST Integrity Check Tool checks for the OST issues and resolves them. If you go the Deleted Items folder of the Outlook after OST Integrity Check, you can view a message with the subject OST Integrity Check. This is the Scan Log of the OST Integrity Check operation you have performed. It enlists the OST issues found by the OST Integrity Check Tool.


Our discussion about the synchronization shows that we need to have a good technical understanding of the Microsoft Exchange Environment to deal with the issues related to Outlook. Also, it consumes a lot of time and labor. All these difficulties can be avoided if you use a professional tool that can deal with all types of Outlook issues. Kernel for OST to PST is such a tool. convert OST to PST is a comprehensive and easy-to-use tool to deal with all the issues related to MS Outlook.

Monday, 29 July 2013

How to Import or Export PST files in MS Outlook?

How can you import or export Outlook data from one computer to another? Many Outlook users ask this question every day. MS Outlook has the facility to import and export Outlook messages, contacts, calendar items, tasks and notes from one computer to another. 

However, it is impossible to import old OST file to New Outlook profile. It is difficult to recreate old Outlook profiles as no inbuilt option in MS Outlook gives you the option to import OST files.

Import and Export Wizard in MS Outlook 2010

Steps for Outlook migration are slightly different in various versions of Outlook. Here our discussion is based on the version Outlook 2010. The Import and Export Wizard of Outlook 2010 helps you easily migrate Outlook data from one computer to another and to restore your Outlook data backup. Follow the steps given below to perform easy Outlook migration:

  1. Go to File > Open > Import
  2. Click Import from another program or file when the Import and Export Wizard appears; click Next.
  3. Click Outlook Data File (PST); click Next.
  4. Click the Browse button and select the file that is to be imported; click Next.

      In this step, do not forget to select appropriate option from the three:
      • Replace duplicates with items imported
      • Allow duplicates to be created
      • Do not import duplicates)
  5. Enter the password and click OK if you are prompted to do so.

    (It happens only if a password has been assigned to the Outlook Data File)
  6. Set the desired options for the given below and click Finish.

      • Select the folder to import from:
      • Select/deselect Include Subfolders
      • Select Import items into the current folder or Import items to the same folder in: ……… (Browse the required folder using the Browse button).
In addition, it is possible to configure Outlook for roaming users. It helps the Outlook user to use different workstations in the same network. But, the network computers used by the roaming user should have the same operating system and the same Outlook version. 

Many third party applications help you perform many activities that are not possible with the inbuilt tools of MS Outlook. They also allow you perform many Outlook tool activities in a simpler and easier way. Kernel for OST to PST is such an application.

The primary function of Kernel for OST to PST is to restore your inaccessible Outlook OST files by convert OST to PST. It enables you restore corrupt and damaged files and to migrate mailboxes. This application is compatible with almost all versions of MS Exchange Server and MS Outlook and can be installed with all Windows versions.

Thursday, 4 April 2013

Resolve the error encountered in synchronizing the OST mailbox due to 2 GB file size limitation


When trying to set-up a connection with MS Exchange server but it starts showing up problems then the situation could be fishy. The connection error, most of the times, is the consequence of synchronization problem, network issues, mailbox corruption, etc. Yet another situation which could be the reason of synchronization error of OST mailbox with the exchange server could be oversized OST.

Let us consider a real-life situation where you try to set up the connection with MS Exchange server, unaware of the fact that the OST has exceeded the 2 GB file size limit. As a result, the following error is encountered:

Errors in background synchronization
Within the Deleted items folder of Microsoft Outlook Express, the synchronization log consists of the following entries:
  • 15:19:28 Synchronizing Mailbox
  • 15:19:28 Synchronizing Folder 'Outlook Security Setting'
  • 15:19:28 Error synchronizing folder
  • 15:19:28 [8004060C-53F-0-550]
  • 15:19:28 The OST has reached its maximum size. To reduce the amount of data in this OST,start Outlook in offline mode, select some item that you no longer need, permanently (press SHIFT + DEL) delete them, then re-sync this folder.
After displaying the error message, MS Outlook gets terminated. However, this problem is encountered in MS Outlook 2002 and earlier versions only as they limit the OST file size to be up to 2 GB only. As a solution to it, the irrelevant and unused items should be deleted from the OST mailbox but if the data items contained within the mailbox gets corrupted then they needs to be repaired in order to make them accessible.

OST conversion can be done by using an efficient convert OST to PST utility which enables the users to access the OST mailbox items in MS Outlook itself. But before you choose a utility for yourself, the main thing that should be considered is that the software should be compatible with the version of MS Outlook and MS Windows which you are using so that compatibility issue does not arise.

Kernel for OST to PST conversion tool is one such expedient software that enables the user to accurately repair and recover the OST mailbox data items such as emails, contacts, tasks, appointments, calendar, to-do lists, notes, etc. The powerful algorithm embedded within the software enables recovery of every single bit of data with precision. After recovering the data, the software allows to save it in PST format which can be accessed in MS Outlook itself.

Friday, 12 October 2012

Fix Outlook OST Synchronization Error 8004011D-526-80040115-0 without wasting any time

Living in an era where everything is getting more digitized, it’s absolutely hard to ignore the significance of email communication. Especially when a minor lack of communication could bring your business come to standstill. But at the same time as the world is filled with lots of uncertainties, 24X7 hours of exchange server accessibility is out of the question. Thus to tackle with such conditions, the concept of OST files was introduced by Microsoft which is nothing more than the replicas of the exact Exchange Server user mailbox that is stored on the user’s local machine. And, once the connection with the Exchange Server gets established, every single change you made to the user mailbox items simultaneously gets updated on the server mailbox.

Now, important aspect that you must note is that there must be a proper connection with MS Exchange Server. Any error in connection could make it difficult for you to sync its offline folder (.ost file). However, such issues could be resolved easily by restoring the file contents from a backup, preferably a PST file. But in situations where you don’t have a proper backup, then the best option that you could work out is OST conversion with the help of a convert OST to PST utility. Such application successfully allows you to access emails, contacts, tasks, calendars, and other items of inaccessible OST files by converting them to PST.
Let’s be more specific and consider the situation where you get encountered with an error message while synchronizing the Outlook OST file with the MS Exchange Server.
  • Synchronizing Mailbox 'USER'
  • Synchronizing Hierarchy
  • Synchronizing server changes in folder 'Inbox'
  • Downloading from server 'Server_Name
  • 1 item(s) changed read-state in offline folder
  • Synchronizing server changes in folder 'Deleted Items'
  • Downloading from server 'Server_Name'
  • Error synchronizing folder
  • [8004011D-526-80040115-0]
Microsoft Exchange is not available. Either there are network problems or the Exchange computer is down for maintenance. 

Synchronization error 8004011D-526-80040115-0 clearly indicates that MS Outlook has been unable to synchronize with Exchange Server due to network problem. At the same time you could also deny the fact this problem might also have occurred due to corruption in OST file. Whatever is the reason, a simple operation of OST migration can be very beneficial in tackling with such conditions. 

Third-party OST to PST conversion application like Kernel for OST to PST conversion tool can be used to convert an unusable or damaged OST file to a PST file. Integrated with interactive user interface along with some of the most advanced features, this tool convert OST to PST without brining any change in the original file content. Each and every restored item is saved in Personal Storage Table (.pst) file that can be accessed by Microsoft Outlook and other compatible email clients.

Wednesday, 29 August 2012

Ensure full accessibility of OST files by converting them in PST form

When you work in MS Outlook environment connected with MS Exchange Server, the all your information get store in Outlook OST file format. Although, like any other file format, there is also a great possibility that these OST files get corrupt because of various reasons such as damage of database, breakdown of exchange server, malfunction of software or hardware, insufficient storage space, accidental deletion of Server, abrupt application or Server shutdowns, virus attacks.

These instances results crash situation in MS Exchange Server and a long duration connection disruption between Outlook Exchange servers ultimately damage OST files. Whenever such critical situation arises and corruption occurs in MS Exchange Server and you become unable to access your OST files then it is very significant to recover those file as soon as possible. Really, any such incidence could make you absolutely handicap as it may hinder your daily work assignment and email communication.

Outlook OST files are just like the replica of Server-based folders of your MS Exchange Mailbox and you would not like to take any chance of OST file corruption. As a result, the most practical way which should be followed by you in order to regain full access right to those OST files is by performing OST to PST conversion. Typically, there are two methods which can be used to perform OST to PST conversion – Manually and Professional OST to PST conversion. The manual process is not suitable as in most of the circumstances; this process takes too much time to complete the conversion process.

On the other hand, taking help of third party effective OST to PST conversion tool such as Kernel for OST to PST conversion, you become able to convert MS Outlook OST files into PST file format within few minutes. With the help of this OST to PST conversion utility, you can easily convert all email messages, folders, posts, meeting requests, journals etc in Outlook PST file format. Undoubtedly, it is one of the best email conversion tools that can help you to retrieve emails from corrupted OST files just by taking few minutes of time. The utility performs an absolute and accurate scan of the inaccessible OST file and then place all the emails along with their attachment.

Just after completing the scanning process, every email message are displayed in a tree like structure so that you can simply make sure recoverable email message and then save them at the preferred location in PST format. One of the best features of this software is its interactive and user friendly interface due to which it can be used even by novice users having no technical knowledge. Furthermore, convert OST to PST software is very easy to install on any system having any version of Windows operating system.

Friday, 24 August 2012

How to eliminate corruption issues of the OST file

OST file is the offline data file of an outlook mailbox connected with an exchange domain server. OST file is created within an exchange mail environment and it allows the outlook users of exchange server to use their accounts in offline period. Changes made by the outlook users during offline period are recorded in OST files. The changes of OST files are transferred to the Outlook PST files, when link between MS outlook and exchange mail server is re-established. 

However, many times data transfer from OST to exchange mail server fails. There may be several factors behind non-synchronization of OST with exchange domain network such as:
  • Error in networking drive: Changes in OST file fail to synchronize with exchange mail server, due to problem in network drive. The problem may arise due to broken LAN or WAN cables and damaged Ethernet ports of window system.
  • Corrupt Storage Media: OST files are stored locally in different client computers of exchange server. When hard disk of a client computer are physically damaged or have multiple bad sectors, all files including OST file stored in it also become corrupt.
  • Unexpected System shutdown: OST file becomes inaccessible due to accidental shutdown of the computer system. The window program may be forced to shut down due to poor backup by UPS system, power cut or hardware problem.
  • Virus and spyware codes: Malicious programs can enter in the exchange domain server from external sources like pen drive and floppy drive. These programs block the OST files for use.
Outlook users cannot open their personal mailboxes due to OST file corruption. It is very important to know the exact cause of OST file corruption before troubleshooting the issue. If OST file is damaged due to certain virus code, you should run an effective antivirus program on the corrupt file. This will clean your OST file from infection. 

Microsoft has added free email recovery tool scanpst.exe in outlook program. You can find the scanpst.exe utility in MS office folder of your computer drive. Scanpst.exe can repairs both PST file and OST file of MS outlook. The software successfully fixes minor corruption issues of PST files such as oversized PST file and CRC errors.

However, scanpst.exe is not capable of restoring a batch of OST files. You must run a third party OST to PST tool to retrieve emails of inaccessible outlook mailboxes. OST file conversion software successfully fixes both minor and severe corruption issues of OST files. The software is capable of retrieving all emails and attachments from the damaged OST file. OST file conversion utility sends the retrieve emails of corrupt outlook mailbox in a new PST, MSG, EML or DBX file.

Kernel for OST to PST file conversion supports recovery of both UNICODE and ANSI emails from the inaccessible OST files of exchange server. It supports different versions of exchange mail server, MS outlook and outlook express. OST file conversion utility can successfully run on Window versions 98, 2000, XP, 2003, 7 and Vista. Before, buying an email recovery program, I advice the users to evaluate the software.

Monday, 13 August 2012

Ways to resolve corruption issues of exchange OST files

MS outlook is a popular text messaging tool used for sending and receiving text messages or emails. It has several user friendly features like large mailbox size, import export management, fast delivery of emails, multiple file attachment supports, contacts and many more. You can link MS outlook with POP3/IMAP email server such as MS exchange. One can also connect his outlook mailbox directly with internet. MS exchange server provides interface to all outlook users of a domain network. Email records of the outlook user account are stored in two files i.e., OST and PST files. OST or offline storage table is a temporary file that stores all emails of single outlook user account. When internet services in outlook mailbox is interrupted or lost, all emails of that account is saved in an offline file or OST file. When MS outlook is reconnected with internet, all mail communication of the outlook user during offline period is transferred from OST to PST file.

However, many factors prevent OST files to send emails in outlook PST files. These factors are:

  • Intrusion of virus and spyware code through exchange server
  • slow internet connection
  • Hard disk error
  • Fault in networking cable
  • Crash of exchange server

OST file may be damaged due to any of the above mentioned reasons. When OST files of exchange server become corrupt, all outlook mailboxes stored in these files also become corrupt. In that situation, users shall not be able to use their outlook account. You shall get different error messages while trying to open your outlook mailbox from the corrupt OST file:

  • Cannot open your default email folders. The file xxxx.ost is not an offline folder file
  • The file OST_File_Path\outlook.ost is already in use by the maximum number of applications
  • Unable to expand the folder. The set of folders could not be opened
  • OST file cannot open Outlook

MS outlook program is equipped with inbuilt recovery tool scanpst.exe to repair both PST and OST files. Scanpst.exe is saved in different location of user system. You can find the tool either from the search box of window start menu or through manual search. The inbuilt OST file recovery tool of Outlook will retrieves emails and email folders of outlook mailbox from the corrupt OST file. All retrieved items are saved by the scanpst in new OST file. However, scanpst.exe fails to retrieves emails in its exact form from the corrupt OST files. Earlier versions of the MS outlook restrict the OST and PST file size up to 2 GB only. The OST file recovery tool of MS outlook also fails to repair the oversized OST files. Scanpst.exe is suitable for minor corruption issue of OST and PST file. It cannot be used to fix the corruption of large or several outlook mailboxes.

Another way of OST file recovery is making backup of OST files before corruption using Window backup archive creator or any third party convert OST to PST software. You shall be able to retrieve outlook mailbox items from the backup copy in case loss of original files.

If you don’t have backups of OST files or OST files are severely damaged, then use proficient third party email recovery software. The third party OST to PST utility retrieves emails from the corrupt OST file and saves in PST file.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...